Not even an Aaron Boone eruption can get the Yankees going these days.
Boone was tossed from Friday’s 4-3, 10-inning loss to the Marlins in the bottom of the first inning after home plate umpire John Tumpane called Aaron Judge out on strikes on a 3-2 pitch that was low.
With Aaron Hicks at the plate to start his at-bat, Boone was quickly tossed before he even got to Tumpane.
But when he met Tumpane near home plate, Boone got his money’s worth in a rant that didn’t exactly rival “savages in the box,’’ but came close.
“Just because you kicked the first one, don’t keep kicking it,’’ Boone told Tumpane of another questionable call earlier in Judge’s at-bat against Marlins’ right-hander Sandy Alcantara. “[That] guy’s got a good f–king sinker. Those pitches are not f–king strikes.”
Boone famously went after young umpire Brennan Miller on July 18 of last season in the first game of a doubleheader against the Rays, when he yelled, “My guys are f–ing savages in that f–ing box … tighten this s- -t up!’’
The Yankees went on to win that game as part of a five-game winning streak, while “savages in the box” became a rallying cry for the rest of the season.
On Friday, Boone said he wasn’t trying to fire up his team, which had come in having lost four of five.
“I was just reacting to a terrible call and following up,’’ said Boone, who was replaced by bench coach Carlos Mendoza. “We saw Aaron get called a lot on bad ones down. That was clearly pretty bad. I wasn’t sending any message other than I got a little upset. … I took exception [to the call].”
Judge was more diplomatic.
“It’s tough, but I saw six pitches, so I can’t really blame the whole at-bat on one pitch,’’ Judge said. “I had plenty of opportunities to put the ball in play and do something. It’s on me to take control and put the ball in play and don’t let it come down to a 3-2 borderline pitch.”
The Yankees’ issues with Tumpane didn’t end there.
In the eighth, Mike Tauchman — running for Gary Sanchez — stole second base with the Yankees down a run and Clint Frazier at the plate. But Tauchman was sent back to first when umpire interference was called because Miami catcher Chad Wallach’s arm collided with Tumpane’s jaw as he attempted his throw to second.
“It was the right call, but you’ve got to be out of the way,’’ Boone said of Tumpane. “[Wallach] is basically falling out of the way, falling backward and throwing a Hail Mary up and hit the umpire. We said earlier he was up there [too close]. Obviously, Wallach had no chance.”
Frazier struck out and Tauchman eventually scored on Judge’s game-tying single.